

## MALAYSIAN SOCIETY FOR MICROBIOLOGY

# c/o Department of Microbiology Faculty of Sciences Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Jalan Pantai Baru Kuala Lumpur

Tel: 03-8946 6711 Fax: 03-8943 0913

# MINUTES OF THE 34<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 3<sup>rd</sup> DECEMBER 2009 AT PARK ROYAL HOTEL, PENANG

The Society held its 34<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting (AGM) at 6.15 pm, 3<sup>rd</sup> December 2009 during the International Congress of Malaysian Society for Microbiology (ICMSM 2009). A total of 69 members were present at the meeting (Appendix 1), which took place at the Grand Ballroom at the Park Royal Hotel, Penang.

#### 32.1. President's Address

The President, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kalaivani Nadarajah began her speech by welcoming all members to the Annual General Meeting. She thanked the Executive Committee members and MSM members for their strong support.

# 32.2. Adoption of the minutes of the 33<sup>rd</sup> AGM

Minutes of the 33<sup>rd</sup> AGM held on the 17<sup>th</sup> August 2008 at the Hyatt Regency Resort, Kuantan was tabled and adopted without any correction.

The minutes were proposed to be accepted by. Prof. Dr. Thong Kwai Lin and seconded by Dr. Farah Diba Abu Bakar.

#### 32.3. Executive Committee's report 2008/2009

The Annual Report was presented by the Secretary, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Shuhaimi Mustafa.

#### 32.3.1 EXCO Meetings

A total of eight EXCO Meetings were carried out during the 2008/2009 session. The venues of the meetings were at the Faculty Science and Technology, UKM and University Malaya. Overall, the attendance of the EXCO members was satisfactory.

#### 32.3.2 Membership

To date, there are 166 life members, 16 ordinary members, 1 associate member and 7 student members. Membership dues were not paid by most ordinary or student members.

#### 32.3.4 Activities

Four activities were carried out for the year 2006/2007: 1) 6th Workshop on the Isolation, Identification and Preservation of Bacteria; 2) To be a member of the International Union of Microbiology Societies (IUMS); 3) Published Malaysian Journal of Microbiology (MJM); and 4) Denaturing Gradient Gel Electrophoresis and Fluorescence in situ Hybridization.

## 32.4 Editorial Board Report of Malaysian Journal of Microbiology (MJM)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. K. Sudesh Kumar presented the financial report and terms of reference for MJM (Appendix 2).

# 32.5 Financial Report 2005/2006

The Financial report was presented by Assoc. Prof. Dr. Foo Hooi Ling, the Treasurer of the Society. The report consisted of:

- 1. Statement by Honorary Treasurer
- 2. Report of the Honorary Auditors to the members
- 3. Statement of Fixed Deposit
- 4. Statements of Income and Expenditure for year ended 30<sup>th</sup> June 2009
- 5. Appendix 1 (Financial statement of 29<sup>th</sup> and 30<sup>th</sup> MSM Symposium)

#### 32.6 Matters Arising

#### 32.6.1 Membership of IUMS

An application for membership in IUMS has been put in and currently, waiting for their response.

#### 32.6.2. MSM logo

There was no response to competition announcement to change the MSM logo. It was decided by the MSM members that the current logo will not be changed.

## 32.6.3 Amendments to the Constitutions of the Society

All MSM members present agreed with the amendments proposed by the Society (Appendix 2).

# 32.7 Election of the Executive Committee and appointment of Honorary Auditors for 2007/2008

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kalaivani Nadarajah, the President of the EXCO 2008/2009 officially dissolved the committee before the election of the new Executive Committee and appointment of Honorary Auditors for the session of 2009/2010.

The meeting was adjourned at 7.30 pm.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kalaivani Nadarajah President MSM (2008/2009) Assoc. Prof. Dr. Shuhaimi Mustafa

Honorary Secretary MSM (2008/2009)

# Appendix 1: Attendance list for 32<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting at Grand Ballroom, Park Royal Hotel, Penang

No.	Name			
1.	Fatimah Abu Bakar			
2.	Kamariah Long			
3.	Mohd Yazid Manap			
4.	Thong Kwai Lin			
5.	Foo Hooi Ling			
6.	Kamarulzaman Kamaruddin			
7.	Neelam Shahab			
8.	Jong Bor Cyan			
9.	Kalaivani Nadarajah			
10.	Jeffrey Lim Seng Heng			
11.	Pauline Liew Woan Ying			
12.	Mohamed Ismail Abdul Karim			
13.	Raha Abdul Rahim			
14.	Noor Hana Hussein			
15.	Rofina Yasmin Othman			
16.	Mariam Talib			
17.	Aminah Abdullah			
18.	PK Rajesh			
19.	Nor Aishah Abdullah			
20.	Hashimah Hashim			
21.	Ainihayati Abdul Rahim			
22.	Monica Danial			
23.	Teh Boon Aun			
24.	Nor Suhayati Yaakub			
25.	Raja Arief Deli Raja Nasharuddin			
26.	Nor Aini Abdul Rahman			
27.	Fadzilah Ismail			
28.	Zatilfarihiah Rasdi			
29.	Farah Nadia Omar			

30.	Halimatun Saadiah Hafid
31.	Mohd Nizam Lani
32.	Tg. Elida Tg. Zainal Mulok
33	Khalilah Abdul Khalil
34	Sharifah Aminah Syed Mohamad
35	Fatihatul Zuriati Makmon
36	Nordahlah Rosmi
37	Nursyuhada Mohd Hanafi
38	Lye Siew fen
39	Goh Cyen Meng
40	Halim Mohd Saun
41	Mohd Faris Foong Abdullah
42	Kamsani Ngalib
43	Fong Kam Tuek
44	Mohd Yamin Shaari
45	Wan Zuhainis Saad
46	Rosfarizan Mohamad
47	Mariana Nor Shamsudin
48	Shuhaimi Mustafa
49	Kamaruzaman Sijam

**Appendix 2: Executive Committee for 2009/2010** 

No	Post	Name	Proposer	Seconder
1	President	Assoc. Prof Dr Kalaivani	Shuhaimi	Kamaruzaman
		Nadarajah	Mustafa	Sijam
2	Vice-president	Dr Jong Bor Chyan	Kamaruzaman	Kalaivani
			Sijam	Nadarajah
3	Hon. secretary	Dr Neelam Shahab	Shuhaimi	Kamariah Long
			Mustafa	
4	Treasurer	Assoc. Prof Dr Foo Hooi	Kamariah Long	Raha Abdul
		Ling		Rahim
5	Exco member	Dr Farah Diba Abu Bakar	Kalaivani	Kamariah long
			nadarajah	
6		Prof Dr Raha Abdul Rahim	Farah Diba	Kamaruzaman
			Abu Bakar	Sijam
7		Assoc. Prof Dr Wan	Shuhaimi	Foo Hooi Ling
		Zuhainis Saad	Mustafa	
8		Dr Kamariah Long	Raha Abdul	Wan Mohtar
			Rahim	Wan Yusof
9		Prof Dr Thong Kwai Ling	Kalaivani	Farah Diba
			Nadarajah	Abu Bakar
10		Assoc. Prof Dr Shuhaimi	Internal	Dr Kamariah
		Mustafa	Auditor	Long
11		Pauline Liew Woan Ying	Kalaivani	Kamaruzaman
			Nadarajah	Sijam
12		Dr Samuel Li Han	Nazalan	Razip Samian
			Najimuddin	
13		Assoc. Prof Dr Razip	Sudesh Kumar	Raha Abdul
		Samian		Rahim
14	Internal Auditor	Assoc. Prof Dr Koshy	Wan Zuhainis	Jong Bor
		Philip	Saad	Chyan
15	Internal Auditor	Dr Halimi Mohd Saud	-	-
16	Co-opted Member	Dr Vikineswari	-	-
		Sabaratnam		
17	Ex-Officio	Dr Kamaruzaman Sijam	-	-